6655 Travis Street, Suite 900, Houston, TX 77030

The Fellowship Program - Houston, TX


In his ongoing commitment to the specialty and to improving quality patient care, Dr. Kridel is a Fellowship Director for the American Academy of Facial Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (AAFPRS) Fellowship Program.

The AAFPRS Fellowship Program is considered the best post-graduate program in the world for training facial plastic and reconstructive surgeons and is widely respected by the medical community at large. Through this program, surgeons refine their surgical techniques and develop new skills and specialized knowledge in facial plastic surgery.

Dr. Kridel’s Fellowship Program is one of just 49 sanctioned programs across the United States and Canada and one of only two programs in Texas. Based on his reputation for superior surgical skills and innovative techniques, a fellowship with Dr. Kridel is one of the most sought after by the best and the brightest physicians that have graduated at the top of their respective medical training programs. He receives over 25 applicants each year from around the country just for the one position.

Dr. Kridel’s Fellows include:

Fred Aguilar M.D., Kenneth Buchwach M.D., Ed Szachowicz , M.D., Kevin Shumrick M.D., Richard Price M.D., Larry Marcus M.D., J. Raymond Konoir M.D., J.D. Gonzales M.D., Fred Bressler M.D., Bernard Pacella M.D., Hossam Foda M.D., Bruce Scott M.D., Suzanne Yee M.D., Kevin Lunde M.D., Leonard Covello M.D., Paul Evangelisti M.D., Paul Kelly M.D., Ali Rezaee M.D., Kevin Cavanaugh M.D., Edmund Liu M.D., Michel Siegel M.D., Lee Klausner M.D., Peyman Soliemanzadeh M.D., Robert Chiu M.D., Edward Kwak M.D., Dominic Castellano M.D., Matthew Bridges M.D., Anand Patel M.D., Samir Undavia M.D., Angela Sturm M.D., David Burstein M.D., Eric Yavrouian M.D., Christian Conderman M.D., Jeffrey Watson M.D., Sagar Patel M.D., Sean Delaney M.D.,Neela Rao M.D., Clelie Melancon, M.D., Nicole Starr, M.D.

Dr. Kridel and the Fellows have performed a tremendous service to the specialty through the research, development and dissemination of new procedures, improvement of patient care, and the refinement of surgical techniques in facial plastic surgery.

Current Fellow

2021-2022 FPSA Fellow
Nicole Starr

Nicole Starr, M.D., has joined the Facial Plastic Surgery Associates team through the esteemed fellowship led by Dr. Kridel and seeks to advance her training in Facial Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery under the guidance of Dr. Kridel.

Education & Training

Dr. Starr completed her undergraduate education at DePauw University and medical school at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine in Beavercreek, Ohio. She then completed her residency in 2021 in Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery at University of Kentucky in Lexington, KY. Dr. Starr also has a Masters degree in Public Health from Wright State University. She has also received numerous Awards and Honors for research and overall leadership.

Awards & Recognitions

Dr. Starr was awarded several academic merit scholarships in both undergraduate and medical school. During residency, her research was selected for podium presentations at several conferences, including for Best Prevention and Early Detection paper presented at the Combined Otolaryngology Spring Meeting (COSM).


Dr. Starr is an accomplished figure skater and was a competitor in the United States Junior Figure Skating Championship. She is also a regular volunteer at the Ronald McDonald house in Houston.

Dr. Russell Kridel's Commitment

Dr. Kridel discusses his commitment to teaching and the prestigious Fellowship Program